## Delta Omega National Council Meeting Draft Minutes November 4, 2019

The meeting was called to order at 2 PM.

Joel Lee asked the council members attending the meeting to introduce themselves and then congratulated the new chapters:

- Delta Chi National Taiwan University
- Delta Upsilon William Patterson University
- Delta Phi University of Nevada Reno
- Delta Psi- Jefferson University
- Delta Rho UC Irvine
- Epsilon Alpha University of San Francisco

Keith Zullig reviewed the financials from FY19. Though the year had not been formally closed, it appeared Delta Omega would have an FY19 surplus of \$23,940 and net reserves would be approximately \$61,547. He also reviewed the proposed FY20 budget. Income was predicted to increase slightly, mostly due new chapters. Salary expenses were likely to increase because the ASPPH development staff would be making some enhancements to the Delta Omega chapter admin portal. The budget was approved as presented.

Allison gave the secretary report which included the following information:

- As of November 4, 2019, there were 117 chapters and 23,873 members
- Six new chapters were created in 2019
- Chapter admin portal seemed to be working well (chapters were reminded inductions must be reported through the national office through the induction portal and dues must be paid for the members to be considered national members)
- A "getting started" page had been added to the website which provided step-bystep instructions on inducting new members.
- The national office would take over the distribution of stoles from the Omega chapter in 2020. Because the current style was more expensive to manufacture, the style will be simplified so that the price could be lowered.

Allison reviewed proposed changes to the by-laws that had been recommended by the executive committee. The changes were as follows:

- Increase minimum number of at-large executive committee members from one to two
- Clarification of process of approval of new chapters
- Increase in number of faculty inductees limits
- Modification of alumni inductee limits
- Clarification of process to transfer membership to another chapter

- Reduction of honorary member limits
- Removal of requirement that chapter officers must be DO members within a year
- Simplification of language about chapter delegate
- Removal erroneous language about chapter reports
- Clarification of language about national dues and chapter dues
- Addition of language about voting requirements/quorum

The council members were supportive of the changes but agreed that that criteria for faculty inductions needed further discussion. The decision was made to convene a sub-committee on bylaws changes and then propose the slate of changes again in 2020.

Allison announced that Somer Burke (USF) had completed her term as at-large board members and asked for nominations from the floor. Michael Thompson (UNCC) nominated himself and there were no other nominations. Ballots were distributed to the council members and after the votes were tallied, Michael was elected for a two-year term to begin January 1, 2020.

Joel Lee then introduced the winners of the chapter of the year award and asked each winner to make a short presentation. The winners were:

- Beta Upsilon (University of Florida) was then recognized as runner-up for the Chapter of the Year award.
- Gamma Delta chapter (American University of Beirut) was recognized for the New of the Year award.
- Gamma Mu chapter (West Virginia University) was awarded the Chapter of the Year award.

Allison announced that a webinar featured each of the three awardees would be scheduled for 2020.

The national council then convened into six round tables:

- Defining faculty eligibility
- Chapter officers and leadership
- Chapter activities
- Student inductee selection process
- Chapter admin (bylaws, meetings)

Joel then introduced the curricula award winners.

Curriculum Award Honorable Mentions

- Dr. Itza Mendoza-Sanchez Texas A&M University "Public Health Education Integrated to the Core"
- Dr. Alyssa Lederer- Tulane University School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine- "SPHL 6080: Design Strategies for Public Health Programs"

Curriculum Award Runner-Up

• Dr. Cara Pennel - University of Texas – Galveston "Topics in Public Health" Curriculum Award Presentation

 Dr. Lorraine Dean – JHU "Power, Privilege and Public Health in the United States"

The curricula award winners would be asked to present on a webinar in early 2020. Joel then showed two videos which featured the two 2019 national honorary members: Shannon Watts and Peter Buxtun.

Joel asked the student poster presenters to receive their awards and reminded the national council members to visit the poster sessions on Tuesday.

The meeting was adjourned and council members were invited to attend the Delta Omega social hour.