Dr. Edgar Erskine Hume
Dr. Claude W. Mitchell

The Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health was founded in 1924 at Johns Hopkins University within the School of Hygiene and Public Health (now known as the Bloomberg School of Public Health) by two graduate students, Dr. Edgar Erskine Hume and Dr. Claude W. Mitchell. At the time, public health as a profession was still in its infancy and, prior to the establishment of university-based education in public health, entrance into the field had been largely through practical experience and political favor. To promote the graduate study of the field, Dr. Hume and Dr. Mitchell organized this honorary society in order to recognize outstanding achievement in the new field. For an overview of its history through 1991, click: here.

Currently, Delta Omega has expanded to more than 100 chapters at CEPH-accredited schools and programs and has more than 20,000 members.

Dr. Edgar Erskine Hume

The society still honors the ideals that initially formed its foundation.Membership in Delta Omega reflects the dedication of an individual to increasing the quality of the field, as well as to the protection and advancement of the health of all people.

As each chapter varies in size, specialties, and setting, the society is a chapter-based one so that members and the chapter’s community can have a tailored experience. Each chapter conducts the principal Delta Omega activities and manages the induction of new members, more information on these opportunities are viewable here.

The Delta Omega National Office — based in Washington, DC — supports the ever-growing network of Delta Omega chapters. Chapters induct new members and host events to support their students, alumni and faculty.